I Can be Kind

Amie Carlson (Author) | Heather Hayworth (Illustrator)


91ps0m2h3ulOverview:

This is a cute, simple book designed to teach children basic manners. Open the flap on each page to see a Bible verse to back up the lesson. It’s a good idea, but I feel like it stopped a little short of success. The writing is good, and (see below) the artwork is adorable.

I just have one main complaint: The book is very flimsy. It’s a book geared to young children, so I’d expect a bit more durability. The pages are very thin – far too thin for a peek-a-boo style book.

Illustrations:

That said, the artwork itself is adorable. I love all the detail behind each flap. It’s lovely, bright, and friendly, and kids will certainly be engaged.

Cover:

Lovely and fun. Great font choice, nice layout, and nice detail.

Final note – I feel bad leaving a lower rating, so I feel I should explain. The author and the illustrator did a beautiful job. Unfortunately, the publisher went cheap and decreased the value of an otherwise excellent product.

*****

Leave a Reply

